Welcome to the African Studies and Research Forum

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


ASRF’s current research:

ASRF’s current annual awards: 

ASRF Administration and Initiatives, 2022-2024

Executive Committee

Executive Committee Perdurantes (in the spirit of Nelson Mandela)

  • George K. Kieh, President Perdurantes
  • Ishmael I. Munene, Executive Secretary Perdurantes
  • Christine Mathenge, Treasurer Perdurantes

Election Commission

  • Sabina Appiah-Boateng, Chair
  • Onimi Wilcox, Member
  • Gerald Fosten, Member
  • Abdul Razak Iddris, Member
  • Stanley Ehiane, Member

Standing Committee on Awards

  • Doyin Coker-Kolo, Chair
  • Ibipo Johnston-Anumanwo, Member
  • Egodi Uchendu, Member
  • Femi Vaughan, Member
  • Ngozi Edeagu, Member
  • George Mbara, Member

Standing Committee on Projects

  • Lady Yartey Ajayi, Chair
  • Jimmy Imo, Member
  • Sheikh Tejan Drammeh, Member
  • Johnson Makoba, Member
  • Judith Irene Nagasha, Member

Standing Committee on Research and Publications

  • JP Afamefuna Ifedi, Chair
  • Odair Barros-Varela, Member
  • Stanley Ehiane, Member
  • Caleb Ayuba, Member
  • Isreal Mallard, Member

Best Book Published on Africa Award Committee

  • James T. Gire, Chair
  • Chika Esiobu, Member
  • Sabelle Abidde, Member
  • John Conteh, Member
  • Saidat Ilo, Member

Best Graduate Student Paper Award Committee

  • John Conteh, Chair
  • Efua Afful, Member
  • Saidu Bangura, Member
  • Saidat Ilo, Member
  • Fatima Babih, Member

Events Committee (New)

  • Sheikh Tejan Drammeh, Chair
  • Onimi Wilcox, Member
  • Junior Hopwood, Member
  • Fatima Babih, Member
  • Trevin London, Member

Grants and Development Committee (New)

  • Adjo Enyonam Ajaka, Chair
  • Alice K. Thomas, Member
  • Odair Barros-Varela, member
  • Saidu Bangura, Member
  • Gerald Fosten, Member
  • Julietta Raymond, Member
  • Falla Lamin, Member
  • Jules Pericles Tamegue, Member

Computation and Information Technology Committee (New)

  • Dayo Oyeleye, Chair
  • Hilda Dunkwu, Member
  • Junior Hopwood, Member
  • Zita Benyiwa Andoh, Information Technology Officer
  • Abdul Karim Bangura, Member

Newsletter Team

  • Ajeori Agbese, Co-editor-In-Chief
  • Richard Yidana, Co-editor-In-Chief
  • Zita Benyiwa Andoh, Information Technology Officer

Journal Team

  • Emmanuel O. Oritsejafor, Editor-In-Chief
  • Nurudeen Akinyemi, Associate Editor for West Africa
  • Muiu  W. Mueni, Associate Editor for East Africa
  • Nourdin Bejit, Associate Editor for North Africa
  • Musifiky Mwanasali, Associate Editor for Central Africa
  • Allan Cooper, Associate Editor for Southern Africa


  • The Female Members’ Professional Development Initiative
  • Nominating John Mukum Mbaku for the Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences Initiative
  • ASRF Logo and Moto Competition Initiative
  • Office Space, Telephone and E-mail Address Initiative
  • Full-time Senior Technical Advisor/Executive Support Staff Initiative
  • Partnerships with Like-minded Organizations and Universities Initiative
  • The ASRF Panel of the Wise (ASRF-PoW) Initiative
  • The ASRF Diegetic for Younger Scholars Initiative (in honor of Walimu Peyi Soyinka-Airewele, Theodora Ayot, Doyin Coker-Kolo, Rita Kiki Edozie, Mueni wa Muiu, and Mojúbàolú Olúfúnké Okome)
  • ASRF Publications Database Initiative
  • United Nations Observer Status Initiative
  • 2023 Conference to Be Convened in September in Washington DC, Nation’s Capital, USA
  • 2024 Conference to Be Convened in Paradise Island Cabo Verde during US Thanksgiving Week in November

Comments are closed.

ASRF 26th Conference September 13-15, 2023: University of the District of Columbia. Washington DC, USA

Contact ASRF:

ASRF Events

May 2023

Enter your email address to follow ASRF Online and receive notifications of new posts by email.